Like us on   Image Detail

Current News

Live Timing
   USSA      Western Region


Headlines-Click on the title to view the article

Sign up for age class email hotlines by clicking on the
age class of your athlete(s)
U10.12        U14        U16        U18.21.SRS

U16 Jr Championships Selection and Registration Posted
Pictures - Diamond Peak U14 Race

Race Suits: Far West Masters Scholarship Program
Race Changes - Central and South - Updated 3.3.15
Skiing at University Nevada Reno
Check out results highlights on the Far West Facebook Page
Helmets Are Cool - An Excellent Reminder as we start the season (video link)
Far West Bib Orders are Open
USSA updated Equipment Guidelines passed by USSA 10.10.14

Understanding the U Class System
Like us on Facebook

 March 3, 2015
U16 Jr Championships Selections and Registration

The long awaited U16 Standings and Registration are now open!!!
Registration is due by Friday, March 6th at 6:00pm.

Please head to the U16 Jr Championships Page for all the information.

February 27, 2015
Pictures from Diamond Peak U14

Click on sports teams
Click on DPST
Click on any appropriate folder.

 February 26, 2015
Masters Scholarship Program - Suits

Below are three suits being sold by the Far West Masters Scholarship Program. All funds go towards the Far West Masters Scholarship Program, which provides approximately $25, 000-$30,000 to Far West Juniors per year.
All communications regarding these suits needs to go directly to Eddie Mozen (

Suit #1: Spyder Downhill Suit from Marco Sullivan. Size XXL, worn once at the Sochi test event World Cup Downhill; asking $450.

  Marco Sullivan DH Suit


Suit #2: Spyder, new 2 Piece SL suit in red, from Mark Engel, size Large; asking $600

  Mark Engel Red Slalom Suit

Suite #3: Spyder 2 piece SL suit in blue from Mark Engel, slightly used; asking $400

Mark Engel Blue Slalom Suit


February 17, 2015
Central and South Series Race Changes

Yosemite Winter Club March 14-15 has been moved to Bear Valley.
Dodge Ridge February 21-22 has been postponed to March 21-22

Mountain High, February 21-22 has been postponed to March 21-22.

February 2, 2015
Skiing at University Nevada Reno

Graduating seniors and post PG year racers, ski racing is alive and well at the University of Nevada.  Are you looking to continue your ski racing after High School?  If you would like to continue to ski and race in the Northern Sierra's, you should take a good look at UNR.  UNR skiing is a unique club program that has long in history and is steeped in tradition.  Currently we compete in the USCSA conference, and we will qualify both a Men and Women's teams to a highly competitive national championship.  The UNR Winter Sports Club, which conducts UNR skiing, is funded through several sources, additional to its ASUN support, funding sources include:  a Foundation endowment, long standing booster organization, and ski swap. These funds go toward a seasonal full time paid coach, training space, assists the athletes travel expenses and funds equipment for training.  Additionally, we have several endowed memorial scholarships that assist current team members with tuition costs.  Our race team is on snow 5 days a week for structured training and races. As a student driven club sport we welcome all interested participants, but we are looking  for athletes with FIS backgrounds who would like to continue their ski racing experiences in an educational setting and to strengthen this team.

The University of Nevada at Reno is a Tier 1 University with 145 distinct degree programs, 8 individual schools, that include, Agriculture, Business, Engineering, Education and Journalism departments.  To check out the school go to:

To send an inquiry this please contact Ross Collins, Head Coach/Program Director, at:


October 22, 2014
Far West Bib Orders are now open - Required by all FW athletes

The 2014-2015 Season Far West Skiing Bibs are now open. Every Far West athlete must have the 14-15 season bib.  Please follow the directions below to complete your order:

1. your USSA.Far West membership must be completed.
2. Click on "Click here for Race Registration, Bib Orders" at the top of this page.
3. From the drop down menu please choose "bib-Far West" (do not choose the club you ski for)
4. click on the big green button labeled 'register now.'
5. type in your athletes USSA number*, beginning with the F (stands for Far West).
6. confirm that your athlete is the one listed at the top and hit continue to register.
7. agree to the race event requirements and click on add to cart.
8. you will need to complete all of boxes as listed on alpinereg and finish off by completing the payment section.
*if you come with a red lettered note after entering your athletes USSA number then the system has not been updated since you completed your athletes membership. If you are having difficulties with this section please contact alpinereg by choosing the 'contact us' button in the corner.

Bibs will be distributed to the clubs or to coaches at team captains meetings. They are not shipped directly to each athlete.


FW Bib 2015



Far West Job

Alpine Meadows
Bear Valley Snowsports Education Foundation
China Peak Ski Team
Diamond Peak Race Team
Dodge Ridge Race Team
Heavenly Ski & Snowboard Foundation
Kirkwood Ski Education Foundation
Mammoth Mountain Ski Team
Mt. Rose Falcons
Mt. Ashland Racing Association
Mt. Shasta Ski & Snowboard Team
Northstar Race Team
Sierra At Tahoe
Sierra Nevada College
Snow Summit Race Team
Squaw Valley Ski Team
Sugar Bowl Ski Team Foundation
Team Mountain High
Yosemite Ski Team



"Where racing begins"
10990 Donner Pass Road
Truckee, Ca 9616
Hours: Sun-Thurs 8am-6pm
Fri-Sat 8am-7pm


Clif Bar








Granite Chief


Copy Center